Chapter 1.1

Welcome to the very first chapter of the L’Amour Legacy. If you read my announcement post, you’ll know which handicaps I’m playing by in this challenge and the slight changes I’ve made. You’ll also know that my founder for this legacy is Phillip L’Amour.
He’s a quiet knowledge sim who I thought would get a kick out of getting back to nature, wasting lots of hours using the telescope and scrape by with not a lot of money.
Not a lot of money AT ALL. As per the rules, Phillip purchased an empty 5×5 plot of land. This turned out to be very expenisve for what is normally a newly-created CAS sim, and left Phillip with only around 5,000 simoleans. (I made sure that he only started out with 20,000; his family have more but that would be bad cheating!) You can build and buy as much as you want on the first day but he couldn’t afford more than this outisde room, garden plots, flowers, pond and legacy tree. The plots, pond and tree are particuarly important as I am adding the restriction that the family can only eat food they grow and catch (once the fridge runs out).
Phillip had to go for the cheapest version of the essentials, including a barbecue rather than oven. At this point I thought I must be reading the rules concerning money wrong, as how can you build a whole house on a 5×5 plot with only 5,000 simoleans? Maybe you can cheat at this point, but I’m in for the challenge.
Our founder is a neat and outgoing Aries. His tummy indicates his lack of movement, but I’ve become accustomed to it and think it makes Phillip Phillip.
As Phillip needs money, I added the aspiration reward of the money tree to the ”house”. I know it doesn’t give much, but we’re pretty desperate here.
Phillip is very attracted to this townie he met at his sister’s wedding, and tried to get her over here pronto! I need a second pair of hands to help start up the garden. But she was busy.
Phillip had to get to work alone for the time being.
(The elixir of life is the lot synchroniser and the tree is the sim blender)
But during the gardening I got him to greet Carolina Hancock here to see if she had any juicy networking rewards.
Bingo! That will do very nicely. Thanks, Carolina!
As he tries to ignore his very new aquaintance on the very public toilet, Phillip searches for a job.
He takes one in the science track and can go right now, ignoring the welcome wagon.
Carolina’s telly money gave us enough to buy a parking space and car. This is essential as the legacy sims are not allowed to use the carpool at all as part of the ‘Middle of Nowhere’ handicap.
Whilst Phillip is away at his first day of work, I get to watch the belligerent townies Phillip doesn’t even know knock over his bin. We do not need roaches so early on in this challenge! D:
Hm. It seems Phillip’s first day at work was stressful. That is not safe driving, Phillip.
Readers of the College Adventures will know I had Miles Edgeworth from the Ace Attorney series in my neighbourhood…. well I obviously also have the man himself, Phoenix Wright. He apparently works in the science career and not the law in the sims universe.
At this point Phillip greeted the first animal to appear on the lot, a little dog called Betty. If we can adopt her and another dog, I can start earning points by ‘strengthening the breed’.
DIRTY THIEF!
Got it in one! This normally takes longer! Phillip adopted Betty, making her the founder of the pet line, which will hopefully run alongside the sim one.
Eloise was clearly also done with work, so it was time to woo her into moving in, too.
‘Mmm, you look mighty fine sitting on that toilet.’
This is going to be a cinch, she is already infatuated.
So hygienic.
Later that evening, Phillip tends to his garden and gets a phonecall from a past girlfriend (you missed your chance to be in a legacy, Kimyona) whilst his current flame reveals she’s also into colleague Phoenix.
Better claim your territory quickly, Phillip!
The best romantic dinner Phillip could muster up was cereal. Eloise is one lucky lady.
But I guess eating cereal in the dark swung it for Phillip, and Eloise happily moved in. At least she’s experienced some of what she’ll be in for.
Yes, Eloise! Not bad at all. And it is still the first day, so there is no restriction on buying further things.
I think Phillip did very well to bag Eloise. She’s a pretty brunette with dark blue eyes and a very even personality. I will expect pale babies as she’s got skintone 1 like Phillip.
Make that at least 3 pale babies. As I’m playing the ‘Patriarchy’ handicap, they will need to have at least one boy to be the first heir. This is okay though, I’ll need plenty of hands to help out and plenty of sims to reach the top of careers and die in interesting ways. Just being brutally honest D:
Eloise had another telly in her inventory! Cha-ching!
With this further money, I got the couple a double bed (that is Phillip’s maths degree above the bed), two bushes (there needs to be 10 before Phillip dies)…
… and two trees, which I put at the back of the lot. There also needs to be 10 trees before he dies, as part of the ‘Green Thumb’ handicap.
I bought a fancy front door and purchased two squares of flooring and painted two sections of wall, as per the ‘Middle of Nowhere’ handicap. It is seriously going to take forever to have one finished room!
Eloise’s outfit wasn’t fitting in with the back to nature, roughing it, sciencey theme I’d planned, so she drove over to Dapper Dress.
Don’t look so worried guys! How ominous.
I bought our family sim a home-y blue (to match her eyes) dress. Much better, though how she’ll garden in heels is her problem.
‘Yes! I have a hot girlfriend!’
The two jumped right into their nice new bed for the first time and…
The first generation is on its way. I turned off birth control as I thought there was no point wasting time!
Day 2: Eloise wakes up after Phillip goes to work feeling fantastic, breathing in that fresh country air.
‘Huuurghghgh!’
It’s a good thing that toilet is the only one and is part of the singular room of the house.
I got Eloise gardening and she revealed she was very excited about the weeding. This is fortuitous because she’ll be spending a lot of time doing just that.
She also had to field calls from certain ex-stalker college mascot cows (it’s not just Phillip. There are several targets in the neighbourhood).
Woo, go Phillip! We’ll soon have way more money than the one item and few build items a day require!
Before Eloise starts showing, Phillip makes things official by the now-very-smelly toilet. It’s a special place for them.
Happy family sim is happy.
Yay! Phillip’s found a solid wife!
I wanted to get the two of them married before the day was out, and quickly invited his nearest and dearest.
They didn’t get married under a wedding arch, but by their heart-shaped pond.
((They have 3 bolts for each other, as per the ‘True Love’ handicap.))
The guests were really into the high romance of it all.
But I thought it was cute.
‘Hey! I feel kind of funny over here!’
*pop* The first generation is on its way!
The item I bought today was the expensive telescope, as Phillip’s predestined hobby is science and I can get points for all the heirs, siblings and spouses who get to maximum enthusiasm in science. Maybe I’ll even get some points for some alien pregnancies, too!
That’s it for the first two days of the legacy- join me next time to welcome baby no. 1 to the fam and see if Phillip and Eloise can juggle a newborn with no baby gear and the garden.

6 thoughts on “Chapter 1.1”

      1. XD Thanks! Next two chapters are already written and scheduled. 1.5 is set to release at Midnight tomorrow, and then 1.6 will release at Midnight on Wednesday.

        Like

      2. Sweet! Looking forward 🙂 I’m currently publishing once a week as plaything through the rest of the neighbourhood takes time aha.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. It probably will take me more time once the spares are all in different places, because then I have to keep track of them and if they have kids (because Story Progression mod for Sims 3 is AMAZING for that), and also making Gen. 2 heir’s spouse, and yada yada yada, I am rambling.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yes, you’re right! I started the legacy in a neighbourhood I already played a lot (perhaps foolishly) so I have to rattle through it. Looking forward to seeing the next updates 🙂

        Like

Leave a comment